Agra Neighbourhoods, Locations and Districts

Agra itself is considered to be a district of the Uttar Pradesh, being bordered by the districts of Bharatpur, Dhaulpur, Firozabad and Mathura. Within Agra itself are many different districts and neighbourhoods, which are known in India and 'tahsils' or 'talukas'.

The city's tahsils (districts) are named Agra, Bah, Etmadpur, Fatehabad, Kheragarh and Kiraoli, and each of these has plenty to offer, including shops, markets and bazaars, restaurants, temples and various sights to see. Agra's overall orientation is explained here.


On the eastern side of Agra, the Yamuna River gracefully meanders past many appealing sights. The legendary Taj Mahal complex can be found alongside the Yamuna River, within the eastern central district of Agra.

Directly south of the Taj Mahal is an area known as the Taj Ganj, which was originally formed by the many workers, artisans and labourers responsible in creating the Taj Mahal, who simply created their own community within central Agra. Featuring a rather congested network of criss-crossing alleyways and lanes, the Taj Ganj area of Agra is where you will find many of the city's budget hotels, along with a good selection of cheap rooftop restaurants, particularly around the Taj East Gate Road. Just a short distance to the south, a good selection of top-end accommodation lies along Fatehabad Road.

The historic 'Old Town' district lies within the heart of Agra, on the western banks of the Yamuna River and close to the Agra Fort Train Station and the Red Fort itself. Both the Agra City Train Station and the Belanganj Train Station can be found on the northern side of Old Town Agra. Most tourists tend to visit this lively district for the shopping opportunities at the Kinari Bazaar alone.

Places of interest to the south of Agra's Old Town district include the Agra Golf Club (off Taj Road), the Shahjahan Parl (next to Yamuna Kinara Road) and the Main Post Office (on Mahatma Gandhi (MG) Road.